Return to Nicholas Johnson's Main Web Site

Return to Nicholas Johnson's Iowa Rain Forest ("Earthpark") Web Site

Return to Nicholas Johnson's Blog, FromDC2Iowa

Forsyth's saga

J. Robert Hopson

Des Moines Register

December 3, 2006

Reader Comment, "This Statement is Incorrect"

[Note: This material is copyright by the Des Moines Register, and is reproduced here as a matter of "fair use" for non-commercial, educational purposes only. Any other use may require the prior approval of the Des Moines Register.]

The Register's Nov. 21 editorial, "Shed Secrecy in Search for University President," left the impression that the insult to former University of Iowa president David Skorton - a smaller pay raise than the two other regent university presidents - occurred during the watch of the current Board of Regents when it actually occurred during the time when John D. Forsyth, CEO of Wellmark, was board president.

It was during that time that the U of I Hospitals was arguing with Wellmark about the appropriate health claims to be paid to the university by Wellmark for services provided.

Skorton's reward for doing his job on behalf of the university was the insult the Register described in its editorial, and it is this insult that is the reason the university is now searching for a new president. When it comes time to assign blame for specific conduct, make sure the correct set of characters receives the tar and feathers.

J. Robert Hopson,

This statement is incorrect

Reader Comment

Des Moines Register Online

December 5, 2006

Gartner et al were on the Board of Regents in the spring of 2005. This link from the August 2005 meeting:
...will take you to the following:


To recognize a very good year at the University of Iowa and adjust the annual base salary of President Skorton by 3.0%; also to recognize a year of excellence at both Iowa State University and the University of Northern Iowa, and adjust the annual base salary of President Geoffroy and President Koob by 5.0%.


Regent Arbisser Becker Bedell Downer Gartner Harkin Rokes Vasquez Wahlert
Aye x x x x x x x x